SFRC Approves Syria Authorization Language [UPDATED]

By Raffaela Wakeman
Wednesday, September 4, 2013, 5:15 PM

So reports the New York Times on this afternoon's vote to authorize the use of military force in Syria. The vote was 10-7; the Republicans voting with a majority of the Democrats on the panel included: Senator Bob Corker, Senator John McCain, and Senator Jeff Flake.

The remainder of the Republicans on the panel voted no. The nays: Sens. Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), and James Risch (R-Idaho).  No-voting Democrats were Tom Udall (D-NM) and Chris Murphy (D-CT). Democratic Senator Ed Markey of Massachusetts voted "present," reports The Hill.

Stay tuned for the language of the resolution itself. [UPDATE: the SFRC-approved bill can be found here.]